Kempton Watch House

The Kempton Watch House has recently been restored by Council, and is attached to the Kempton Council Offices. The building is the remaining portion of a much larger building – being the men’s lock-up room of the 1847 watch house. The building was designed by William Porden Kay, Colonial Architect and served the town for 90 years until it was largely demolished in the late 1930s.

The building had a constable’s cottage, watch house keeper’s cottage and both a men’s and women’s lock-up, as well as four solitary cells.  After demolition, the one remaining room was re-roofed and used as a shed for the Council Clerk’s House.  In 2009 the remaining portion of the building was restored, with the steep original roofline reconstructed, but truncated to represent the fact that the building was once larger.  The remainder of the footprint of the original building has been marked in sandstone to show its layout.

The building is open during business hours and can be booked for use by individuals and groups for meetings, exhibitions, events etc. Enquiries to the Kempton Council Offices, 03 6254 5050, or to Brad Williams, Manager, Heritage Projects on 0418 303184

Kempton Watch House

 (Image courtesy Tasmanian Heritage and Archives Office)

Kempton Watch House

Home Email us Print Comment

Southern Midlands of Tasmania, where a blend of good old fashioned values and modern ideas co-exist